10 years! Wow. A brief History of the Forums

It’s been slightly over or under 10 years since these forums were started, depending on where you count from. I first installed the forums on a shady PHP host I met on IRC and paid via paypal for a month, I set up moparisthebest.com/smf/ and it ran for a few weeks, then the host disappeared off the face of the earth along with the database and everything else, so I set it up on a new host on February 22nd, 2006. I know that date exactly because it’s the date my account shows for a creation date. Don’t worry, 2006 moparisthebest was an idiot, 2016 moparisthebest has backups, RAID, security, and all the other things you’d expect from a host. :slight_smile:

For some more background, I started playing runescape (RS2) in late 2004 or early 2005. When I started I couldn’t even touch type, I only hunted and pecked, I was forced into learning to touch type by the need to talk faster in runescape in order to cooperate with other players and be able to sell/buy things. I quickly got tired of the monotony of grinding experience points, and since I had just taken my first intro to programming course, on my way to a mechanical engineering degree, in college (university for you European folks), I naturally thought maybe I could automatically program a mouse to do this for me. Some searching brought me to a website with something called SCAR scripts on it, to sythe.org, and eventually to the home of the creator of SCAR, the kaitnieks forums. I liked these forums far more than sythe.org, there was no buying or selling allowed, and therefore no scammers. Additionally it appeared to be a meritocracy, anyone who could contribute positively to a conversation was welcomed, anyone who could program could share their work, and be recognized and thanked for it. From the script repository website, I had a few scripts that mined ore in parts of fallador, and smithed it, and did some other things. I improved on them, combined them, used them myse